Been quiet … for a reason

Last month I traveled to Chino, CA, for business.  I travel with my camper, and the cat, as I am usually pulling a Sage sailboat to/from a boat show or a regatta.  In this case I went to Pacific Trailers to have a custom trailer designed for the new Sage 15.

Sage 15 at Pacific Trailers.

Sage 15 at Pacific Trailers.

The evening of my first day in Chino I received ‘the phone call’ no one wants to receive.  My folks were in a car accident and my Mother died due to the injuries sustained.  My Dad was unharmed (physically).  So … as anyone can understand … I left Southern CA and drive direct to be with family in Seattle.

My Mom, Ginger, on the Blackball Ferry going from Victoria, BC, to Port Angeles, WA, after the first leg of Race to Alaska.

My Mom, Ginger, on the Blackball Ferry going from Victoria, BC, to Port Angeles, WA, after the first leg of Race to Alaska.

I spent just over two weeks in Seattle and then headed back to California to collect the Sage 15 and OK the new trailer design.

I returned to Golden one week ago.  Slowly I am getting grips on my new reality and settling back into work.

In a couple of days I am going to Florida to attend the St. Petersburg Sail & Power boat show.  I will be traveling in the Tundra and Caribou Lite.  Momma Kitty, as usual, will be my co-pilot.

Over the next weeks I’ll post updates on the stops I made while on the West Coast and the Florida trip.

2 thoughts on “Been quiet … for a reason

  1. Dave, it’s been a while since I took a peek here on your blog, so only now just reading the sad news about your Mom. Please accept (belated) my deepest sympathy for your loss.

    -Neil

    Like

  2. Pingback: Still in Port Townsend, WA | Adventures in a truck slide-in pop-up camper

Leave a Reply

