Texas

After a wonderful series of days in central Louisiana I departed for Austin, TX, just in front of another large Winter storm.  The schools and businesses are closing for the day even though the storm hasn’t yet arrived.

It is cold as I get the Caribou Lite ready for the road and the wind is really blowing out of the north.  After saying my goodbyes a cold light rain begins to fall.  I head south on I-49 as quickly as I can … nice to go at the posted speed limit again as I’m no longer towing a Sage 17.

After about two hours I’m south enough that the air is not as cold, though I do drive though the occasional rain shower.  I intersect Interstate 10 and head west.  When traveling through Houston I get lucky and experience very few traffic slowdowns (I’ve been told that if traffic is heavy to take the Sam Houston Tollway … well worth the cost to avoid the I-10 parking lot).  West of Houston I turn onto Highway 71 and head into Austin.

My first stop in Texas is to visit my sailing friend Dave.  Dave is a semi-retired boat builder, sail maker and videographer.  Dave did all of the filming and editing for this Sage 17 promotion video –

Dave assigns me a front yard camping location just off the driveway in a nice grove of trees.  We then spend some time looking at his boat collection.

Camping at Dave's.

Camping at Dave’s.

One of Dave's boats.

One of Dave’s boats.

For the next couple of days I enjoy talking boats, seeing the Austin sights and talking through the world’s problems.  Fun times!

One of the bands I heard while checking out Austin's night life.

One of the bands I heard while checking out Austin’s night life.

Sadly I need to leave Dave’s company and continue my westward travels.  I head west on US 290, driving through Texas Hill Country.  Wonderful sights and wineries along the winding road.

At Dave’s recommendation I stop at Balmorhea State Park for the night, a few miles south of I-10 on Highway 17.  This wonderful oasis is a good camping location … though it would be VERY hot, and likely windy, in the summer.  I am sure that taking a dip the San Solomon Spring pool is a great way to keep cool.

Balmorhea State Park.  A simple facility in the flat desert of Texas.  Nice stopping place, though in the summer this place would be HOT HOT HOT.

Balmorhea State Park. A simple facility in the flat desert of Texas. Nice stopping place, though in the summer this place would be HOT HOT HOT.

Momma Kitty having her dinner.

Momma Kitty having her dinner.

Interesting history about the natural spring found in the park –

Balmorhea State Park's cienega (natural spring) history.

Balmorhea State Park’s cienega (natural spring) history.

The evening was nice and warm … a nice change after many days of cold weather.  After a relaxing night I wake up early and watch the sunrise.

Sunrise at Balmorhea State Park.

Sunrise at Balmorhea State Park.

I now head to Phoenix to visit my my folks.  More on this in the next post.

– Dave

Leave a Reply

