Miami

After the usual morning preparations … coffee & breakfast … I said goodbye to my hosts and heading across Florida towards Miami.

Always nice to 'camp' for free.  A fairly level place to spend the night after showing the Sage 17 to a FL couple.

Always nice to ‘camp’ for free. A fairly level place to spend the night after showing the Sage 17 to a FL couple.

Momma Kitty looking out at the birds and scenery.

Momma Kitty looking out at the birds and scenery.

About half-way across the state, on the Everglades Parkway through Alligator Alley, I stopped in a rest area to have lunch.  I called the motel, as I would arrive in Miami in about an hour or so, to see if I could check into my room early.  Nope, can’t do that.  No big deal.  I settled down for a few hours of reading and paperwork in the Caribou Lite.

The afternoon was shaping up to be a hot one, at least to me and the cat … not the locals.  The inside camper temp was into the low 80s.  I had the rear door open, all the canvas windows and both roof vents.  Glad to have the Fan-Tastic Vent to pull the hot air out of the camper and create a slight breeze.

Momma Kitty likes looking out camper door.  Here she is observing people coming and going through the rest area.

Momma Kitty likes looking out the camper door. Here she is observing people coming and going through the rest area.

Momma Kitty stretching out to cool off.  The camper is in the mid-80s as it is parking in a rest area in direct sunlight.

Momma Kitty stretching out on the floor to cool off. The camper is in the mid-80s as it is parking in a rest area in direct sunlight.

After checking out the activity in the rest area Momma Kitty takes a nap.

After checking out the activity in the rest area Momma Kitty takes a nap.

Mid-afternoon I closed up the camper and headed into Miami and my hotel.

Why a motel?  I’d traveled to Miami to attend the Strictly Sail Miami boat show and display one of the boats I build, the Sage 17.  I’d need shower facilities to be presentable each day and a motel close to the show site would work best.

A Maserati Ghibli parked in front of one of the hotels near the boat show.  Lots of $$$ in Miami.

A Maserati Ghibli parked in front of one of the hotels near the boat show. Lots of $$$ in Miami.

Once I checked into the motel I moved Momma Kitty’s and my things into our studio suite.  I stayed in an Extended Stay America (ESA).  I have stayed in many ESAs and have found all to be nicely kept and the rooms have a small kitchen.  In the Miami case the room rate is more than 70% cheaper than the motels right next to the boat show, and even a bit cheaper than lower cost motels that are not as nice.  ESA also allows cats, a mandatory requirement for myself and Momma Kitty.

The show lasted five days; 12-16 February.  Each morning I would drive from the motel to the show site … this took about 15 minutes (distance is 2.5 miles, traffic in Miami is horrendous!).  After being at the show and talking sailboats I would usually have dinner with friends and then head back to the motel … this took anywhere from 30 minutes to over an hour (again, Miami as a HUGE traffic problem).

Showing off the Sage 17 at Strictly Sail Miami.

Showing off the Sage 17 at Strictly Sail Miami.

– Dave

Leave a Reply

