Two GREAT state parks

I had a wonderful night sleep in Tyler State Park (TX).  With many more miles to travel I woke up early and walked to the wash room in the dark to take a nice warm shower and the other morning ablutions.  The sun was just coming up as I returned to the camper to the sounds birds chirping in the trees.

TX Tyler State Park has very nice sites.

TX Tyler State Park has very nice sites.

As I cooked breakfast Momma Kitty really enjoyed looking at the birds through the camper’s large passenger side windows.

Momma Kitty enjoying her breakfast while watching the birds.

Momma Kitty enjoying her breakfast while watching the birds.

A nice breakfast while on the road: eggs w/sausage, bagles, coffee and some sweets.

A nice breakfast while on the road: eggs w/sausage, bagles, coffee and some sweets.

The outside temp was just above freezing so I took the opportunity to fill the camper’s fresh water tank.  After letting the water run for a minute I go into the camper to check the sink faucet.  The pump is running but no water!  Damn, did I not fill the tank with enough water?  I let the water run for a bit more and tried again.  Nope, no water from the faucet.  Did I not clear out the water line adequately after my last trip?  Now I’m worried a pipe had frozen, or ice had damaged the water pump. I get out the tool box and open up the compartment under the dinette.  I see that water has run up to the pump and there is a bubble, the water ‘pipes’ are actually clear hose, just upstream of the water pump.  I squeeze the hose and the bubble doesn’t move.  Could water still be frozen?  I turn on the pump and squeeze the pipe.  The pump immediately primes itself and I now have water at the sink! I fill the water tank with more water … I think about 2/3 to 3/4 full, between 12 and 15 gallons and clean the breakfast and last night’s dinner dishes.

After breaking camp I head east into Louisiana on Interstate 20.  The weather was warming, but not by much.  The wind had a chill and was blowing strong out of the north.  Reaching Shreveport, LA, I turned south on Interstate 49.

Interstate 40 south of Shreveport, LA.  Sun is coming out!

Interstate 40 south of Shreveport, LA. Sun is coming out!

Lunch was had in the parking lot of Sammy’s Truck Stop near Bunkie, LA.  The weather was now warming and I kept the rear camper door open while eating.

Momma Kitty enjoys looking out the rear camper door during Lunch at Sammy's Truck Stop.

Momma Kitty enjoyed looking out the rear camper door during Lunch at Sammy’s Truck Stop.

Where to stop tonight?  After the good experience in Tyler State Park I really wanted to stay in another state park.  After firing up the smartphone and researching I choose to head for Louisiana’s Tickfaw State Park, about halfway between Baton Rouge and Springfield south of I-12. Once off Interstate 12 I was in rural country and narrow rural roads.  It was getting dark, and there were no street lights, so I missed a few turns on the way to Tickfaw.

Setting sun on the way to Tickfaw State Park, LA.

Setting sun on the way to Tickfaw State Park, LA.

Finally I arrived and was reminded it was the weekend and all of the pull-through RV sites were full.  The campground staff member said I could park in a tent site, but would need to unhook the boat.  Not wanting to drive further I said this was fine.  She invited me to drive through the camping area and pick a site, and then return to the office to register.  After driving the campground I noticed that there was a travel trailer ‘camped’ in the parking lot I was told to leave the boat. Arriving back at the office I asked about ‘camping’ in the parking lot so I didn’t need to unhook. ‘That will be fine; but I need to charge you for a basic camp site,” she said.   This I did!  Yes, I paid to park; but I had access to the bathroom and showers that were just a short walk away.  I could also empty my gray water tank at the dumping station. – Dave

One thought on “Two GREAT state parks

  1. Pingback: Waterworks | Adventures in a truck slide-in pop-up camper

Leave a Reply

