New camper ‘shakedown’ weekend – day one and second night

After leaving Love’s Saturday morning, 10 Jan. ’15, I went to the grocery store to purchase a couple of items: soda and snacks.  after loading the purchases into the camper down the Interstate I went … but first, just after getting up to highway speed, i notice the rear door of the camper has come open.


Read the first part of my report by clicking here.


I quickly pull over and check the door. It is locked.  I can only figure I didn’t take steps to assure the latch had caught when closing and locking the door in the grocery store parking lot.  This wouldn’t have happened if the dead bolt was working.  I close the door and really check that it is latched and then locked.

Back on the road there are only a few miles to drive. I will be staying in a KOA east of Denver.  In this location I will be able to use the camper’s water system, 110V and sewer hookup.

After checking into the campground I set up the camper. The 110V systems work: 110V outlet, battery charger and the fridge switched over to AC. After filling the fresh water holding tank with a few gallons the sink faucet draws water. The only issue is that the camper doesn’t have a sink drain vent which results in slow draining if the hose has any coils.  After getting the sewer hose to lay flat the sink drains OK.

All set up with sewer line and 110V hooked into the camper.

All set up with sewer line and 110V hooked into the camper.

I settle down to enjoy the afternoon.  I read for a while and then watch a couple of movies on Netflix.  Unusual for a ‘free’ wifi service to work well – it being both cold and off-season weekend the speed is great.

Momma Kitty checks out the view from the vanity.

Momma Kitty checks out the view from the vanity.

As the sun begins to set, about 4:45PM, it quickly gets chilly and I turn on my portable electric heater.  The Vornado does a great job in keeping the camper pleasantly warm and I don’t need to turn on the Atwood furnace. I cook supper at about 6PM.  I clean up the dishes and then drain the fresh water tank of any water to assure nothing freezes overnight.  With the chores completed I settle down into an evening of reading.

Momma Kitty relaxing on the dinette seating.

Momma Kitty relaxing on the dinette seating.

At about 9PM I change into PJs and get into bed.  I read for about another hour and then turn out the lights.

One thought on “New camper ‘shakedown’ weekend – day one and second night

  1. Pingback: New camper ‘shakedown’ weekend – day two | Adventures in a truck slide-in pop-up camper

Leave a Reply

